Home News How to password-protect your Google activity history

    How to password-protect your Google activity history

    30
    0


    Google

    Google now means that you can password-protect your Google account’s My Exercise web page in order that others sharing your system cannot snoop in your on-line exercise.

    Once you use Google merchandise, similar to Google Search, Gmail, Google Information, the Play Retailer, Maps, and YouTube, the corporate will report what actions you carried out on these companies.

    This exercise is used to tailor their companies and ads to your explicit pursuits or enhance their merchandise.

    Customers of Google companies can see their collected exercise by going to the ‘My Activity‘ web page, which lists your current exercise and means that you can delete saved knowledge.

    Example of my activity tracked on Google 
    Instance of my exercise tracked on Google 

    In case you are on a shared system or go away your laptop unlocked and are afraid that folks might test what you may have been trying to find, Google has lately added a characteristic that password-protects this web page.

    As first reported by Android Police, when enabled, as an alternative of robotically permitting logged in Google account customers to view tracked knowledge, it would first immediate them to enter their password earlier than granting entry.

    Tips on how to password-protect the Google My Exercise web page

    To password-protect your My Exercise and forestall individuals from snooping in your exercise, you possibly can allow a brand new My Exercise verification characteristic by following these steps.

    1. Go to Google’ My Activity page in your browser.
    2. When the web page opens, search for a hyperlink titled ‘Handle My Exercise verification,’ as proven under, and click on on it.
      Manage My Activity verification link
      Handle My Exercise verification hyperlink
    3. A dialog field will open asking for those who want to require further verifications earlier than accessing the My Exercise web page. Choose the ‘Require further verification‘ choice after which click on on Save.
      Manage My Activity verification dialog
      Handle My Exercise verification dialog
    4. After saving, you may be prompted to log into your Google account once more to save lots of the adjustments.
      Login to your account to save the changes
      Login to your account to save lots of the adjustments
    5. When you log in, the My Exercise web page will likely be displayed once more, however this time the web page is not going to present your search exercise.

      As a substitute, you may be proven a Confirm button that you’ll want to click on to view your knowledge.

      My Activity verify button
      My Exercise confirm button
    6. When you click on the Confirm button, you may be prompted to enter your password once more to unlock the web page and examine your exercise.

    Now that the My Exercise web page is password-protected, it is not going to be attainable for anybody to view your search and looking exercise with out realizing your password.



    Source link